Mrs. Spata’s Fourth Grade Blog

A window into our classroom!

Geometry test

on February 25, 2013

I sent home a reprint of the reteach pages for lessons 9-4A Adding and Subtracting Angle Measures and 9-5A Understanding Angles and Unit Measures. Tomorrow we will learn the new lesson 14-7A Solving Perimeter and Area Problems.

These are new Common Core lessons that can not be found online or in the textbook. When these types of new lessons are taught, I will always send home the reteach pages (usually back-to-back with the homework practice page) to help support you all at home.

:O) Mrs. Spata


2 Responses to “Geometry test”

  1. Denise M. Prudente says:

    I feel as if I am back in 4th grade – I feel badly that I cannot really help Cami with her homework. Just saying that in school they should be learning how to Invest $ and Balance a Checkbook – Lifelong things that MEAN something and are Useful in the long run. Money & Management, etc…All these “new” ways I find very frustrating. Am I the only one? 🙂

  2. sspata says:

    I understand your concerns Mrs. Prudente. Math has changed a lot in the past few years! Most of the “old” ways still work. We are just trying to help the students to understand why the strategies work not to just memorize the steps to solve questions without knowing the why. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar