Mrs. Spata’s Fourth Grade Blog

A window into our classroom!

What is a Voki?

on January 29, 2009

 
Get a Voki now!

A Voki is an animated avatar that you can add audio to. What does that mean?! An avatar is an on-line representation of yourself. Instead of a picture like my smiley face at the bottom right of this page… you can completely customize your own “character”. Then you can record your voice and add it to the image bringing it to life.

I plan to use these to bring characters of stories we read “to life” as well as using them to connect with our Blogging Buddies.

:o)


20 Responses to “What is a Voki?”

  1. SARA says:

    thanks i have one questoin when people vist how come we don’t see there comment?
    sara

  2. sarina says:

    Dear Mrs.Spata,
    I really like the new idea of the voki. As soon as I discovered it on your blog,I showed it to my family and they fell in love with it. I think its really creative!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. sspata says:

    Sarina,

    I am always looking for new things in technology and when I found this I knew it would be a hit. The only bad thing is that we might not be able to do them from schoool. I’m trying to get permission. Right now it is blocked by our filtering system on the computers.

    :O) Mrs. Spata

  4. sspata says:

    Sara,

    If the visitors submit a comment, I will post it. Sometimes, people just look around without leaving a comment.

    :O)

  5. sara says:

    Hi Mrs. Spata oh ok thanks for telling me. Hi Sarina how are you feeling.
    sara

  6. Zachary G. says:

    Hi Mrs. Spata!! I think this is soooooo cool!! I hope we can create our own!!!

  7. nikki says:

    This is so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Adonis says:

    The voki is pretty cool. Can we each have one?

  9. Matthew says:

    Mrs.spata

    Your Voki talks.Its so cool!

    Matthew

  10. Adonis says:

    If we do get a voki. Can you guess when it is going to be?

  11. nicholas says:

    it is awesome!!!!!!!!!1

  12. Adonis says:

    Mrs. Spata when i tried to make a voki it just said “Do I make you hungry? Happy Turkey month!”

  13. SARA says:

    Hi Mrs. Spata wow this is sweet. I know you will get new ideas. This is so cool. thanks.
    sara

  14. sspata says:

    Adonis,
    Wait until we do it in class together. I’ll show you how to do it all. I know you are excited to try it now.
    :O)

  15. nicholas says:

    i made my own symbol see %) (look side ways)

  16. sspata says:

    Very cool!!!
    :O)

  17. anjali says:

    Dear Nick,
    That’s a cool symbol. If you look sideways at this symbol, you can tell it is a smiley face. 🙂

  18. anjali says:

    Dear Sarina,
    How are you feeling? You have been absent for a long time. You didn’t miss much in school. We learned about congruent figures. We also learned about rotational symmetry, reflections and translations. Hope you are feeling better.

    anjali :):):):):)

  19. anjali says:

    Dear Mrs. Spata,
    What do you do with the virtual pet?

  20. sspata says:

    Anjali,
    Experiment with him and find out. If you want to learn more… scroll down to the archive search box in the right hand collumn and go to November. My original posting for Montey was on November 21st and you can read all about it.
    :O)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar