Mrs. Spata’s Fourth Grade Blog

A window into our classroom!

Mental Math Strategies

on October 1, 2012

Tonight’s math homework is using two tricky mental math strategies called Break Apart and Compensation!

 We are exploring and learning about them in class this week. I want my students to practice using them even though there are other ways to solve the problems. Please log on to Pearson to watch the videos, look at your child’s notes from today, and/or click the two links on the bottom to see my PDF notes with some examples.

compensation

break apart

 


One Response to “Mental Math Strategies”

  1. Courtney says:

    Hello Mrs. Spata,
    I did not have trouble with the math homework. All I was confused with was it in the homework book? If it was the homework book, I forget it at school. I did it though, I went on Pearson. Ok well I will see you at school tomorrow. THE SCIENCE TEST TOMMOROW!!!!!!!! STUDIED!!!!!!
    Love,
    Courtney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar