Mrs. Spata’s Fourth Grade Blog

A window into our classroom!

Tax Day at Tackan

on April 2, 2009

Today Mrs. Spata’s class had a “Tax Day”.

 

We pretended that we were Colonists from Colonial America and that we were being taxed by King George III. Mrs. Spata was the king!!!

 

We learned very quickly how difficult the taxes made life for the colonists and how they might have felt being forced to pay additional taxes for things like sugar (Sugar Act/Revenue Act) and paper (Stamp Act).

 

****more pictures to follow -I have to upload them from home.***

5 Responses to “Tax Day at Tackan”

  1. Jackie A. says:

    Dear Ms. Spata,
    I thought that tax day was fun, but a little unfair to the patriots. I mean come on!!!! Was it really necicary to make US carry their lunch boxes in for snack!?!?To be honest, my opinoin was that this wasn’t very fair at ALL.

    your student,
    Jackie A.

    P.S. I wasn’t trying to be disrespectful if you took it that way. I was just stating my opinion.

  2. sspata says:

    Jackie,

    Now you understand a little bit better why the colonists wanted to seperate from Brittan and become their own state. The Sugar and Stamp Acts (taxes) were just one of the six events that lead to the Revolutionary War.

    As we continue to learn about the other causes, I think that you will agree that they made the right choice in creating their own “United States”.

    :O) Mrs. Spata

  3. Sarina says:

    Dear Mrs.Spata,
    I think that the revolutionary war is a very interesting topic. And about tax day. I thought that it was very fun because I was a loyalist. thank you Mrs.spata! Bye!!!!!!!

  4. anjali says:

    I had so much fun at tax day.

  5. sspata says:

    Remember that both the Loyalists and the Patriots had to pay taxes. The difference was that the Loyalists figured that it was worth the sacrifice to remain under the protection of Britian. The Patriots did not believe that it was worth it and that Britian was being too controling.

    I am very glad that you enjoyed the day.
    :O)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar